House Project

As one of our final color theory assignments we were tasked with creating a poster in Illustrator that depicted a house or any kind of dwelling of our choice.

Here’s mine!

House Project

This poster illustrates several color relationships.  The tetradic (double complementary) set of yellow, orange, blue and violet.  I used analogous relationships for the fish: yellow, yellow-orange and orange.  For the house, I used various tints and shades of the primary colors red, blue and yellow.

I used a muted color scheme and lots of shades and opacities to show highlights and shadows.  I used a radial gradient in the background to indicate the light source.

I worked on the words quite a bit.  I wanted to put something poetic on there, but couldn’t really come up with what I was looking for, so I opted for something still poetic but more childlike.  I feel like the typeface expresses the mood of the words well.

Leave a comment